Local Talent

parkour at mrt
Illustration 1.0 – the fifth circle of hell, probably. (Photo by Edmer Bade)

The Filipinos are highly creative people. (It takes a certain level of creativity to try and find the good in the bad, like Filipinos tend to do.) This week, I accidentally stumbled upon some insanely talented folks who happened to hail from the same island as I do.

Music: Paolo Arciga

 i know it’s gonna be a long way down
but i’ll be on my feet again, soon

This song has been stuck in my head for days now, I kid you not. It’s no secret that Filipinos are great singers, but this is very far from the usual Whitney Houston/Beyoncé/Journey karaoke classics. His music holds back from all that intensity while still maintaining the sincere, unfiltered emotions. In My Blood is very optimistic, but in a sad way (lol). Check out more of his work on his soundcloud.

Art: Sasha Martinez

Screen Shot 2016-07-23 at 7.38.17 PM.png

Ahhh I recently just discovered her work while lurking the Instagram’s Explore/Discover tab. Everything is so lovely and otherworldly and very, well, tumblr (if you know what I mean). It’s like A Softer World (RIP) meets the Citadel. Her journals are my favorite. I think it’s a really nice way to organize stuff you couldn’t let go of because of sentimental value (concert and movie tickets, love notes, etc). Very inspiring stuff.

Design: James Cabrera

The Refinery29 brand is far from perfect, but in spite of its unparalleled obsession with the Kardashians, its problematic and clickbait-y headlines, I adore it. So when I found out (not sure how), that one of the designers of their app is a Filipino, I felt proud (don’t ask me why, okay, it’s a Filipino thing. See: pinoy pride). It’s even more inspiring to read about their process. From their Research Phase, to establishing KPIs, to finding a way to bring delight.

What an eye candy!

There’s definitely more local talented people out there, I’m sure. These are just the ones I stumbled upon this week alone. Looking forward to discovering more in the weeks to come ❤

Leave a Reply

